Duke of Edinburgh

Duke of Edinburgh

The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award is the world leader in personal development programmes for young people aged 14–24. The International Award gives them an edge when applying for university admissions as they have real-life experience to show that they are energetic, self-disciplined, can work in a team, and have a commitment to the community.

Not all learning happens in the classroom. Young people need experiences outside the classroom to become committed, responsible, and fulfilled citizens of the world.

There are three levels to the award: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. Within each level there are four categories of tasks that need to be completed before the award can be earned. These categories include involvement in a sport or physical activity, learning a new skill, performing a service to the community, and taking part in an expedition.

The Gold Award has a fifth category which is a five-day, four-night residential sharing an activity with new people.

The Bronze students are offered training in preparation for the expedition. Once the award has been achieved, there is a Presentation Evening where the students are given their certificates and medals.





Over 14 years old

Minimum 6 months


Over 15 years old

Minimum 12 months


Over 16 years old

Minimum 18 months

Find out more about the Duke of Edinburgh Award here